Hard-Won Freedoms

epic 595

“And the rockets red glare

The bombs bursting in air

Gave proof through the night

That our flag was still there”

Any American will recognize those words from our national anthem.  They speak of hard-won battles and desperation and a desire for freedom at any cost.

That fight for freedom is not limited to countries.

The theme of freedom runs just as strongly and potently through my own life, is just as dear to me in the small world of my own heart as it is in my country of birth.  And it seems, to me, to be just as hard-won.  Through a journey of tears, of maturing, of painful growth and adventure and risk-taking, my small steps have brought me, one at a time, closer to the wide-open horizons of freedom.

Today, America celebrates our Independence Day.

I hope that you, each and every one, have an Independence Day of your own to celebrate, a day to remember when you slipped the chains holding you down, preventing you from reaching personal goals, from becoming more true to who you are and who you hope to be, from utilizing with more efficiency and freedom the skills and talents and passions that you have to offer.  While I love my country and greatly value the freedoms, the opportunities, and the rights it offers, I also love the theme of freedom, whether it’s ringing in the lives of the nation as a whole or in the heart of an individual.

America is celebrating its freedom today.  I am celebrating my national freedom, my personal freedom, and freedom for all.  May you join in, and let the freedom ring!

Happy 4th of July! 

Share your own thoughts...

