Just Be

ei003-4

Today’s post begins with a confession:

Sometimes I’m guilty of over-thinking things.

Being an introvert, loving to read and having a long-standing affair with words, I am quite content to spend prolonged periods of time inside my own head, or in reading the thoughts from other heads.

This morning, my first conscious thought was, It’s raining.

For those of you who live in areas outside the desert zones, areas that receive multiple precipitation days in a row, as a common occurrence, areas that enjoy an annual rainfall of 15+ inches, you probably have no idea of the joy that accompanied that realization.

The rest of us, however, knowing how critical this moisture is, having experienced drought first hand on a daily basis, and just survived 2013 as one of the driest years in recent record for our little part of the world, with a two-or-three-year-running shortage adding onto each previous year’s deficit… “It’s raining.”

Insert hushed awe, followed by exuberance, a little happy dance, and then quiet relief.  It’s raining.

In the middle of all that, permanent roommate texted me a photo he took en route to work this morning, of a shining full rainbow, nicely off-set by the cloud bank behind.  A dark backdrop with color bursting in the foreground.  Such beauty on top of the much-needed rain.

I could lie in bed all day listening to the drops and drips and patters, if I wasn’t expected to uphold a few of my usual responsibilities, like… oh, yeah, work.  So I got up and began my morning routine, preparing for my day.

And I got further good news; my cousin is celebrating being cancer free for almost six years, with today being the anniversary of the beginning of his treatments seven years ago.  His dad wrote, “Not a day goes by that we don’t appreciate God’s Grace.  God is good always!!!”

Indeed.  Sometimes it takes something big, like our child being threatened with a serious illness to realize that; and other times it takes rain.

Because it was then that epiphany struck.  Sometimes I over-think things.  As much as I love introspection and retrospection and analyzing, sometimes a person needs to turn it all off and just be. Thankful.  Happy.  Accepting.  Grateful for the grace we are given and the million ways it comes to us from a generous God.

While I wrote that last sentence, I paused to see the sun light up the world outside my window, without a break in the steady drizzle.  Knowing that combination, I dashed outside with my camera and captured the photo at the top of this post.

I’m thinking today is a great day to let the deep thoughts slide and wallow in the glory of life.  My plans underwent a subtle change; much of the external activity will remain the same, but internally, I will be rejoicing.  I will watch the rain and the fog, and I will celebrate that the dry places of this desert land and my soul are being renewed and reborn by life-giving water.  I will dwell only on the things of grace and good news and hope.  Today I will just be.

2 thoughts on “Just Be

  1. A few months ago I had a day where I felt I could breathe because the weight of worry was so heavy. I had to literally stop and remind myself to breathe. Somehow (God promoting most likely) my hand appear in front of my face to where I had to focus on it alone. I felt God telling me to concentrate only on what was in front of me at the time. So the entire day I spoke out loud the things I was doing at that moment so my mind would not get too far ahead of me. It was an interesting day to say the least. I learned a lot about controlling my thoughts to be in the present and also to be thankful for my breaths. Just being in the moment is a skill we should practice daily.
    Thanks for another great post! 🙂

    Like

    • I agree with the daily application of conscious thought idea, for sure. I’ve been reading a book on rest lately, so that will most likely be my next blog post, as I’ve been thinking so much about it. 🙂 Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

Share your own thoughts...

